1 Comment

Hi all! Happy to be back, and thank you Luna for this prompt. A very recent decision I had to make with others was deciding, with my two other housemates, to all vacate our shared home. We were facing an increasingly precarious financial impasse with our property manager because we struggled - due to the pandemic - to find a replacement for a housemate who moved out in September; this meant that both the housemate who moved out and all of us remaining were still liable for the back rent owed on her vacant room. In making the decision to all vacate the house, the interest that was most important to me was making sure that if I left, that nobody be left behind to suffer financially beyond what we as a house were already facing (i.e., that nobody bear the brunt of paying back rent owed for *my* vacant room, if I were to leave, on top of what we *already* owed on the vacant room mentioned above). In short, I wanted to make sure that if I was afforded the opportunity to get out of this situation relatively "unscathed", that everyone else got out with me as well; I didn't want something for myself if my other housemates couldn't have it, too ("it" being financial freedom from the lease, ease/comfort in extracting ourselves from an unjust situation, safety/security in finding another place to live). This interest differed from my housemate - the one who had moved out in September -'s in that I primarily understood hers to be getting someone else on the lease so that she wouldn't be kept financially on the hook for an indefinite amount of time. To reconcile these differences, all four of us talked as a group, coming to the decision that if the three of us remaining at the house were to leave it would align both with my collective-oriented interest of getting everyone out as well as eliminate altogether the need for my housemate's comparatively individual-oriented interest of finding a replacement housemate.

Expand full comment