3 Comments
Nov 9, 2020Liked by luna nicole

I’m commenting from unceded Algonquin territory (Ottawa-Canada). Collectively, the community has been in conflict with our municipal leaders who are planning on increasing police funds, despite everything and all the demands for alternatives. It’s been draining going back and forth with these people. There has been another police related death in the community, as well as a few overdoses. It’s all heavy. It’s hard trying to create better, when it’s so draining just to take down what is harming and killing community members. These newsletters are that small bit of positivity that motivate me to still push for something else, appreciate you and this community a lot!

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2020Liked by luna nicole

One of the main conflicts I'm experiencing during this pandemic is that I am continuing to work a job that is ethically at odds with my values, because I am scared of poverty, need to support my baby, and am afraid that it would be very difficult to find work again during this pandemic. Working for an unethical and colonial company (investing my skills and energy into it) and being part of the problems it creates, that negatively impacts my sense of myself, and I notice that this also has an impact on my ability to access joy in my life.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2020Liked by luna nicole

After being arrested at the protests in my home city on election night, a lot of conflict has arisen within my family as I am living at home with my parents during the pandemic. Having already been facing other conflicts in other relationships, it has been stressful to deal with the conflicts between me and our law enforcement systems as well as the way my family feels about this. It has been stressful for my parents and I that we do not see the conflicts in the same way. However, I'm managing! Going to stay with my sister for a while and am close to being able to move out so we can all have some space to work through these conflicts a little better.

Expand full comment